Saturday, February 21, 2009

I didn't know Witt's dad played for the Islanders



Hey Ant Happy Birthday, and many more. I worked the penalty box this week and I met your true father Brenden Witt. I never saw the resemblance until we were face to face check it out.

Friday, February 20, 2009

Ovechkin Back by Popular Demand Even Sicker

Just when you thought you had seen it all, the newest "Hockey Master" does it again. Check it out,you tell me who is better Ovey or Crosby

Check out the video bar, AWESOME

Tuesday, February 17, 2009

The Sinking Ship at MSG !!!!!


I am starting to feel as if I will have my evenings freed up in early April. For those of you who do not know, I am an Off-Ice Official for the NHL. I have the pleasure or actually for the past few weeks, the displeasure of working at the Sinking Ship Ranger games.

While by day, I am an Attorney and according to Witt, I do nothing. I love Hockey. I must say that the Rangers are starting to chap my ass. They really are starting to suck, they lost again last night to the freaking St. Louis Blues. My God, does it get any worse. The problem now is that Lundquist is normal, they were winning b/c he played out of his ass. Well that has ended. They don't score goals and frankly their power play gave up more goals on Sunday then they scored.

Bold prediction, they play the Islanders at home Wednesday night, if they lose, Renney, fired next day. He has to go. No fire, no desire, no nothing they suck.

P.S. I know its not all his fault, the front office should realize that they don't have a Twenty goal scorer. How about picking up someone, anyone, how about JAGR. He wants back in the NHL and he is rumored to be going to the OILERS.

Well lets see what the rest of the week brings.

Saturday, February 14, 2009

RATS IN BASEBALL


Alex comes out and admits his wrong doing. OK that's fine. Whats worse is that four unnamed players outed him. While I despise cheaters, I hate RATS even more. Whoever the four players are who outed A-Roid, they should be man enough to come out show their faces.

Call a spade a spade, these four, whoever they are, are RAT COWARDS. Just as an aside, I'm not A-Roid fan, but I really think that if people are going to make comments they shouldn't hide.

Friday, February 13, 2009

Forza Azzuri


Just a quick post. After commenting on spanospot.blogspot.com about Beckham, I started thinking about soccer. And what a better way to quench my thirst but to watch the Italy Goals of the 2006 World Cup. Check out the video bar, awesome. Love ya Pop!!!!

Thursday, February 12, 2009

Congrats to Mark Mellea

WOW, for the second year in a row a Mellea has won a Basketball Championship. Sorry Joe you still don't have a C'ship.

After a brutal first half of basketball, by both teams, Team Mellea, with no help from MM, ran away (50-20) with the C'ship of the Harrison Rec. League. Ah...something to to tell the kids about. Good thing no one there had a camera.

Congrats, who the hell was the guy with the tattoo's, Christ he can't still be in High School?

Playoffs what Sport is the Best?


After spending several hours with Master Wit and JM. I can truly understand why some animals kill their young. Ah...just kidding. While spending time at the diner with the two of them, I was amazed at Wit's grasp of geography. I swear. But that's where it ended.

But anyway, my thought for today is what sport actually is the best to watch come playoff time?

Of the four major sports, I will exclude World Cup Soccer, which we all know is the best sporting event ever, my ratings are as follows:

4: Baseball, lets face it unless you are watching the Yankees against the Red Sox or the Yanks vs. Mets, what do you get. Baseball is long drawn out and zero on the physical. With the exception of Clemens and Piazza was there even anything close to a fight? Don't get me wrong until the ninth inning you just wait. I still love the sport but not my favorite come playoff time.

3: Basketball, I will give you this, its become physical and that spells excitement. Players are bigger and certainly come playoff time they mix it up pretty good, but lets face facts until the last two minutes, who really cares.

I am actually torn from here in, while I am bias, that being because I am the Hockey Lawyer, I will go with Football as number 2.

2: Football, of all of the major sports football does not have the possibility to play the other team in a series. Accordingly, they really don't get the chance to hate each others like the other sports. But the idea that every game is really a game seven, makes it incredible. Every play in football could be a key moment. While I can't get enough of Football Playoffs, here's the reason why Hockey playoffs are the best to watch.

1: Hockey, Anyone who watches hockey will tell you come playoff time the game totally changes. From the speed, the passing, the hitting and even the goaltending. The thing is, the game is made to run into each other and they basically tell you its OK to fight. Can you imagine some guy getting under your skin for seven games and its OK to turn around and blast him. Oh yeah, I forgot, you only have to sit out for five minutes. Like any other sport you do have some bad games, and even a bad series but for the most part, when you reach down to the final eight teams, all you have are guys bleeding, cursing and at this point just don't like each other.

Just food for thought, good thing, Master Wit is not around, he may eat it.

Tuesday, February 10, 2009

Winter Classic 2009 A Hockey Nirvana


In case you haven't figured it out I am a hugh Blackhawks fan. I had the pleasure of visiting Chicago for the Winter Classic 2009. Except for the final score, what an event. I have been to a MLB World Series game, been to NBA playoff games, NFL playoff games, no Super Bowl, that's next on my bucket list, been to several World Cup games, that would be soccer, and been to NHL playoff games, no Cup yet but also on the list. The atmosphere was beyond belief. Add into the mix Wrigley Field, a massive rivalry of the new and the old, sub-freezing weather, and the most insane sports fans of all sports, you had a perfect picture of what the NHL is desperately trying to put together.

I can only hope that next year it will be in the BRONX. It will allow all of the Rangers fans, who I truly believe are as loyal as all hockey fans, the opportunity to watch one of the coolest events ever put together.

My congrats to the NHL, they may have, at least for one day, put Hockey on the map. We can only hope that the sports interest will peak and others will enjoy the game as much as I do. GO Hawks!!!!

Monday, February 9, 2009

New Blood in Sports is Bad Blood


I imagine that no one was surprised to hear that an elite athlete was caught cheating. I wonder if it really matters. The real problem is that the ESPN world we live in is all about highlights.

As we continue to watch sports, we all have become part of the problem. We certainly only want to watch highlights but what used to a great play, hit, goal etc. it is no longer a highlight. If we know it, then the players know it and so do the owners.

I am not naive enough to believe that that the owners where not aware that players were cheating. The question is why? Why did it all come to this?

My guess is that most pro athletes are egotistical. They have been coddled their entire lives. When someone comes around who may replace them or make them look mortal, they wonder what can I do to make sure I remain "the MAN"? Well, we all know the answer. Certainly the owners took a blind eye to the problem. If they don't fill the seats they don't make money. And if you think for one second they are concerned about the players health, why were the teams trainers the ones giving the drugs to the players? See no evil etc.

I am certainly saddened by all of this stupidity. I truly believe that all new records will be tarnished forever. As for the old timers, good for them, hey they just drank until they fell over. Shame on the new blood, who single handily have ruined all of sports records. Will there ever be a time in our life time which we can say with certainty that, "he didn't cheat"? Since there still are 103 names on the MLB list of cheaters, who is to say Cal Rypken isn't on the list, he played in 2001. You never know?

He's Baaack!!!! Well not yet!

Rumor mill. Sean Avery coming back to MSG. Allegedly going to the minors to pick up some sloppy seconds of his own and then back to MSG to save the sinking Rangers. How bad are the Rangers, ten goals to the Stars. Weak very weak.

Thursday, February 5, 2009

Ovechkin in New York

I will be working behind the net, as the goal judge, on Wednesday night at the MECA of sports, MSG. I will bring possible photos of the NHL's version of Lebron, Alex Ovechkin. the following day. He never disappoints. He is up to 37 goals and counting.

Sunday, February 1, 2009

Jonathon Toews Not Bad

Please check out the Tazers sick goal on the video bar. Not bad for a nineteen year old. And for the SLWBL people, check out the Tazer's language. (Third video down) Speaks like most of the members of your organization. Sounds alot like MM.

Tuesday, January 27, 2009

Ovechkin For President



While I will admit that I am an old school hockey fan, is there a better player in hockey then the great ALEX OVECHKIN!!!! For anyone who has never seen a hockey game or anyone who is a hockey fan this man is a combination of everything that a hockey player should be. He hits like an animal, he fights his own battles, he skates like a bird, shoots as hard as anyone and he never never quits.

Several weeks ago I was at the Ranger Caps game at MSG, the Caps were down 3-0. I looked at the camera man and he was laughing. I told him there was still 2 periods to go and I would bet that this game is far from over. Wouldn't you know it, Caps win in OT. Ovey couple of goals, couple assists. He never quits.

Further, the guy has a personality to match his skills. He is just crazy. He is a combo of Messier and Gretz. Check this out he is SICK.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TqCgwpkOpUo


As promised photos and thoughts on the Winter Classic next week.

Monday, January 19, 2009

Thanks P.C. I totally agree with you.

Wednesday, January 14, 2009

Sean Avery Scapegoat for the NHL



Well, here goes nothing. HL "Hockey Lawyer"is dedicated to bringing to all his loyal blogger's the best in Hockey views and news. You want to talk about it? Lets do it.



My first topic is Sean Avery and the NHL. Lets face facts, being called "sloppy seconds" is degrading but six games and counseling? I am sure that the NHL is aware of the 1st Amendment and Freedom of Speech but apparently the NHLPA didn't even think it was appropriate to file a grievance on his behalf? Odd right. Maybe the NHL is more of a monopoly then MLB ever was.


While Mr. Avery is in fact a bit on the "Wild Side", his rep's and lawyers should have had the balls to fight the cause. Hell, Plaxico's people filed a grievance and he shot himself with an illegal gun. Also, the NFL only suspended him for 4 games. Well, I'm sure Mr. Avery is not suffering since Dallas has vowed to pay his salary and not requiring his return.

That's not so bad considering he hated being in Dallas anyway.

Later this week, my view of, and from, the "Winter Classic"